top of page
Food Photography

FOOD 

Food delivered

Caterbirds - have a wonderful range of homemade meals that they will deliver to your door. They are also able to be your private chef service for that special occasion (book well in advance!) Telephone: 01556 503378 https://www.caterbirds.co.uk/services-1

Tesco - The nearest Tesco is in Castle Douglas, they also deliver to the Estate - you are welcome to arrange a delivery.

ASDA and Morrisons also deliver here.

Kilnford Farmshop - deliver locally sourced meat hampers and veg boxes. Telephone: 01387 253087 www.kilnford.co.uk 

Eating Out

The Gallery at Laurieston, the closest cafe with amazing food! - http://www.pmcphotography.co.uk/gallery/ 

Mr Pooks Kitchen, restaurant in Castle Douglas -  www.mrpooks.co.uk

Laggan Life, Gatehouse of Fleet - www.lagganlife.co.uk

The Anchor, Kippford

The Clachan Inn, St John’s Town of Dalry - www.theclachaninn.co.uk/food

The Ship, Gatehouse of Fleet - www.theshipinngatehouse.com/restaurant-2/

The Selkirk Arms, Kirkudbright - https://book.easytablebooking.com/book/?id=6db6e&lang=en#

Experiences

Cream O Galloway - Ice cream making workshops (and the best ice cream) www.creamogalloway.co.uk 

The Cocoabean - Chocolate workshops www.thecocoabeancompany.com

Station House Cookery School - https://www.stationhousecookeryschool.co.uk 

Smoky Drink

DRINK

Distillery Tours

Crafty Distillery (Gin) - The “Scottish Gin Distillery of the year” https://craftydistillery.com/distillery/ 

Annandale Distillery (Whisky) - https://annandaledistillery.com/pages/tours

Bladnoch Distillery and Visitor Centre (Whisky) - https://uk.bladnoch.com/pages/visit-bladnoch-distillery/ 

Ninefold Distillery (Rum) - https://www.ninefolddistillery.com/tours

Wild Scottish Stag

NATURE AND WILDLIFE

The Galloway Kite Trail - https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/galloway-kite-trail-p582081

Port Logan Fish Ponds - https://www.portloganfishpond.com 

Red Deer Range - https://forestryandland.gov.scot/visit/forest-parks/galloway-forest-park/red-deer-range 

Kitchen Coos and Ewes - farm tour/’Highland Cow Safari!’ - https://www.kitchencoosandewes.com  

Alpaca Trekking - https://www.senwickalpacas.co.uk/contact/ 

Foraging with Mark (Mark will come to Slogarie or meet you at a location - this is a highly recommended experience!) - https://gallowaywildfoods.com

Gardens

Crichton Gardens - https://www.crichton.co.uk/venue-hire/gardens/ 

Logan Botanic Garden - https://www.rbge.org.uk/visit/logan-botanic-garden/ 

Galloway House Gardens - https://www.gallowayhousegardens.co.uk 

Threave Gardens (they have an Osprey platform and bat reserve) - https://www.nts.org.uk/visit/places/threave-garden 

Castle Kennedy Gardens - https://castlekennedygardens.com 

The Nearly Lost Gardens of Arbigland - https://arbiglandhouseandgardens.co.uk 

Cycling

ADVENTURE

Equipment to hire

Bikes - The Break Pad (you can hire bikes from here and use their tracks or hire the bikes to have at your cottage. We can arrange this and offer a collection service) www.thebreakpad.com

Out and about

Horse riding - www.barstobrick.co.uk/barstobrick-riding-centre-and-livery

Water Sports - www.lochken.co.uk

Mountain biking - www.forestryandland.gov.scot/visit/activities/mountain-biking/7stanes

Guided bike riding - www.gallowaygravelholidays.com

Family friendly cycle loop, The Kirkpatrick Loop - www.thebicycleinventor.com 

Easier exploration

Forest Drives - https://forestryandland.gov.scot/visit/forest-parks/galloway-forest-park/raiders-road-forest-drive

Road Trip

EXPLORE

Walks of interest

Clatteringshaws - https://forestryandland.gov.scot/visit/forest-parks/galloway-forest-park/clatteringshaws-visitor-centre

Mull of Galloway, Scotlands most southerly point - www.mull-of-galloway.co.uk 

Crichope `linn - www.scotlandstartshere.com/point-of-interest/crichope-linn/ 

The Grey Mare’s Tail Waterfall - https://www.nts.org.uk/visit/places/grey-mares-tail

Trails to follow - https://dgtrails.org/?fbclid=IwAR13Zrpw6hQEkzDOI4trm3AevE5mgqoANjB6spdZds4eGkibF7fkP2skZ4Y 

Crawick Multiverse - https://www.crawickmultiverse.co.uk/about/history/ 

Loch Grannoch - Worth the extra effort``! https://getoutside.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/local/loch-grannoch-dumfries-and-galloway 

Loch Stroan (5km walk from Slogarie) - beautiful walks and lovely for a spot of wild swimming, Paddleboarding or Canoeing 

Raiders Road and The Otter Pools - https://www.visitscotland.org/news/2020/otter-pool-site-restored 

Beaches

Mossyard - https://www.thebeachguide.co.uk/south-scotland/dumfries-and-galloway/mossyard.htm 

Powfoot - https://www.thebeachguide.co.uk/south-scotland/dumfries-and-galloway/powfoot.htm 

Powillmont - https://goo.gl/maps/bZcJnms4n7wjsS696 

Southerness Lighthouse and Beach - https://www.visitsouthwestscotland.com/attractions/southerness-lighthouse-and-beach/ 

Carrick Bay - https://www.thebeachguide.co.uk/south-scotland/dumfries-and-galloway/carrick-bay.htm

Kippford Beach - https://www.visitscotland.com/info/towns-villages/kippford-beach-p314461 

Cardoness Beach - http://www.gatehouse-of-fleet.co.uk/index.php/beaches 

Towns

Castle Douglas - a designated Food Town with lots of local produce

Kirkcudbright (pronounced kir-coo-bree) - lively fishing port and known as The Artists’ Town.

Portpatrick - Pretty coastal village, cliff walks

Newton Stewart - Gateway to the Galloway Hills

Wigtownshire - Known as Scotland’s National Book Town

Northern Lights

HISTORY, SCIENCE AND ARCHEOLOGY

You are in a Dark Sky National Park - one of the UK’s first and one of the best! Make sure you go out at night and look up! - https://forestryandland.gov.scot/visit/forest-parks/galloway-forest-park/dark-skies

Or higher a Dark Skies Ranger as your guide - https://www.gsabiosphere.org.uk/explore-the-biosphere/biosphere-experiences/biosphere-guides/

Trips out

The Savings Banks Museum www.savingsbanksmuseum.co.uk

Big Water of Fleet Viaduct and walk - https://www.railscot.co.uk/locations/B/Big_Water_of_Fleet_Viaduct/ 

Caerlaverock Castle - https://www.historicenvironment.scot/visit-a-place/places/caerlaverock-castle/ 

Threave Castle - https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/threave-castle-p248641 

Moat Brae, the home of Peter Pan - https://www.peterpanmoatbrae.org 

The Dumfries and Galloway Aviation Museum - https://www.dumfriesaviationmuseum.com 

Dark Space Planetarium - https://www.dgwgo.com/dumfries-galloway-news/kirkcudbrights-dark-space-planetarium-revealed/ 

Polmaddy Village, abandoned 200 years ago - https://gallowayglens.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/Feb-19-Polmaddy-note.pdf 

 

Walks

Trusty’s Hill. Gatehouse of Fleet - a small vitrified hill fort with Pictish carvings and a great view! http://www.gatehouse-of-fleet.co.uk/index.php/trustys-hill 

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Trusty's+Hill/@54.8771576,-4.1995177,15z/data=!4m5!3m4!1s0x0:0xf3798fa867debc3f!8m2!3d54.8771576!4d-4.1995177 

Watercolor Paint

ART AND CRAFT

The Wee Pottery, pottery painting - https://www.mossyardfarmpottery.co.uk/welcome-wee-pottery 

The Gallery at Laurieston, the closest Gallery with tea and cakes! - http://www.pmcphotography.co.uk/gallery/ 

Kirkcudbright Galleries - https://www.kirkcudbrightgalleries.org.uk 

Kirkcudbright Art Tours - https://kirkcudbrightarttours.co.uk 

bottom of page